A New Topic: BASE Jumping

This is a freely licensed work under the "Free Culture Works" definition. This photo was also taken by Xof711 at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:04KJER0243.jpg

This is a freely licensed work under the “Free Culture Works” definition. This photo was also taken by Xof711 at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:04KJER0243.jpg

The glorious and stressful winter term will be coming to end in a couple of weeks, and I have realized something. I have mainly focused my blog topics on snowboarding events for extreme sports. In a way it makes sense right? The Winter X Games were only a couple of weeks ago, and the Olympics are going on right now, so snow events are a hot topic. Yet, there are other sports I have not touched on at all?

What about those sports where you flail your whole body above thousands of feet in the air? How about those insane ones like skydiving, paragliding or bungee jumping? Just thinking about those sports gives me goose bumps (I may or may not have a mild fear of heights).  I need to touch on these sports because they are part of the extreme world.

I decided from now on I am going to try to learn about a new sport each week. I want to start off with BASE Jumping. It stands for Buildings, Antennas, Spans and Earth. It is a sport that involves jumping off of cliffs, tall monuments, bridges and more. It is a daredevil sport that requires skill and quick thinking, as you only have so little time to pull the parachute to ensure safety.

I am not sure if I myself will ever BASE jump one day, but if anyone ever wants to I read a Safe Skydiving article that gives the top places to jump off. They range from famous cliffs,towers, buildings and bridges. Here are 11 of the best places to BASE jump:

Lauterbrunnen valley, Switzerland

Angel Falls, Venezuela

Burj Khalifa, Dubai

El Capitan, California

Jinmao Tower, Shanghai, China

Perrine Bridge at Twin Falls, Idaho

New River Gorge Bridge, West Virginia, USA

Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur

Empire State Building, New York

Old Man of Hoy, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales

Leave a Reply

